Contact Montana FOI

For specific access questions, please email the Hotline attorney, Peter Michael Meloy, or call his office.

If you wish to speak to a member of the Montana FOI Hotline board, please see the following contact information. For general questions about the Hotline, please contact the Hotline board Chairwoman Melody Martinsen.

“A democracy ceases to be a democracy if its citizens do not participate in its governance. To participate intelligently, they must know what their government has done, is doing and plans to do in their name. Whenever any hindrance, no matter what its name, is placed in the way of this information, a democracy is weakened, and its future endangered. This is the meaning of freedom of press. It is not just important to democracy, it is democracy.” Walter Cronkite, broadcast journalist, [1916-2009]

Melody Martinsen, chairwoman

Editor/co-owner, Choteau Acantha Publishing, Inc.

P.O. Box 320 • Choteau, MT 59422
Ph. 406-466-2403

Jon Stepanek, vice chairman

News Director, KTVQ

3203 Third Ave. N. • Billings, MT 59101
Ph. 406-252-5611

Jackie Yamanaka, secretary

News Director, Yellowstone Public Radio

1500 University Drive • Billings, MT 59101-0298
Ph. 406-657-2987 (mobile 406-698-7426)

Jim Rickman

Executive Director, Montana Newspaper Association

825 Great Northern Blvd. Ste. 202 • Helena, MT 59601
Ph. 406-443-2850

Nicholas Ehli

Editor, Bozeman Daily Chronicle

P.O. Box 1190, 2820 W. College St. • Bozeman, MT 59771 
Ph. 406-587-4491

Gary Moseman, treasurer

Great Falls Tribune, retired

P.O. Box 73 • Lincoln, MT 59639
Ph. 406-781-7111

Dewey Bruce

President/CEO, Montana Broadcasters Association

18 Ruby Mountain Road • Clancy, MT 59634
Ph. 406-431-2139

Matt Volz

Supervisory Correspondent for Montana, the Associated Press

321 Fuller Ave., 2nd Floor • Helena, MT 59601
Ph. 406-442-7440

Lee Banville

Associate Professor, UM School of Journalism

32 Campus Drive • Missoula, MT 5812
Ph. 406-243-2577